Our Team

Senior Leadership Team

Tim Desmond

Tim Desmond: Chief Executive Officer

Tim joined the museum in November 2017 having previously been Chief Executive of the National Justice Museum where he developed the Public Legal Education Syndicates model at courts in London and Manchester. He has over 20 years’ experience in the sector including having been a Visiting Professor at Nottingham Trent University and on the boards of East Midlands Museum Service, Museum Development East Midlands, Arts Council England (Midlands) and Experience Nottinghamshire. His early career was spent in the theatre and later as a drama teacher across the UK and Ireland.

Anthony Willder: Chief Operating Officer

Anthony joined the organisation in September 2018, having previously worked at Chester Cathedral as a Commercial Director. Previous to this he worked for the National Trust between 2006 and 2016 in visitor operations roles at Lyme Park and the Peak District, and managing membership recruitment across the North West.

Dr. Gabrielle Heffernan: Content Director

Gabrielle joined NFM in August 2022. With a background in curating museum collections, Gabrielle brings a decade of experience in heritage, most recently overseeing the Curatorial Team and working as part of the capital development project team at Tullie House. Additionally, she sits on the Arts Council England Designation Panel and is a trustee of the Story Museum in Oxford.

Janine Ross: Marketing & Communications Director

Janine joined the organisation in August 2022, bringing over 20 years’ experience in marketing, communications and business development across commercial and non-profit sectors, most recently as Head of Marketing & Business Development with the Liverpool FC Foundation. She has also held roles with Liverpool ONE, The Florence Institute Trust, The Beatles Story and Visit Liverpool.

Mike Wells: Finance & Commercial Director

Mike joined the organisation in December 2019, bringing nearly 30 years’ experience in finance, commercial and operations management experience across both commercial and non-profit organisations. His previous appointments include McDonald’s Restaurants, Manchester United FC and Manchester United Foundation.

Content Team

Wiebke Cullen: Collections Manager

Dr. Peter Holme: Curator

Dr. Alexander Jackson: Curator

Marek Romaniszyn: Curator

Elisha Foster: Curatorial Coordinator


David Mansell: Project Manager


Christian Allen: Communities & Public Programmes Manager

Sam Broadley: Programmes Producer

Louise Rutherford: Participation Producer

Dara Laughlin: Participation Producer

Marketing & Communications Team

Craig Dobson: Digital Marketing Coordinator

Operations Team

Darren Collingwood: Operations Manager

Amanda Ellam: Visitor Experience Coordinator

Kristina Matusaitis: Visitor Experience Coordinator

Aron Royle: Visitor Experience Coordinator

Laura Gritti: Team Leader (Stock Control)


Jeff Starkey: Technical Manager

Mark Howarth: Gallery Technician

Michael Shields: Gallery Technician


Heather Cooper: Executive Assistant

Charlotte Taylor: Executive Assistant (maternity cover)

Finance & Commercial Team

Sheryse Kennedy: Finance Manager

Nita Mistry: Finance Assistant


Laurie Bowe: Venue Sales Manager

David Edwards: Venue Sales Manager (maternity cover)


Jennie Hart: HR Manager

THE LATEST UPDATES, DIRECT TO YOUR INBOXSign up to our fortnightly newsletter below.