Please note: The museum will be closing early on 2 & 3 December, and closed for the full day on 6 & 12 December. Click here to learn more.

Staff & Trustees


Tim Desmond: Chief Executive Officer
Tim joined the museum in November 2017 having previously been Chief Executive of the National Justice Museum where he developed the Public Legal Education Syndicates model at courts in London and Manchester. He has over 20 years’ experience in the sector including having been a Visiting Professor at Nottingham Trent University and on the boards of East Midlands Museum Service, Museum Development East Midlands, Arts Council England (Midlands) and Experience Nottinghamshire. His early career was spent in the theatre and later as a drama teacher across the UK and Ireland.

Anthony Willder: Chief Operating Officer
Anthony joined the organisation in September 2018, having previously worked at Chester Cathedral as a Commercial Director. Previous to this he worked for the National Trust between 2006 and 2016 in visitor operations roles at Lyme Park and the Peak District, and managing membership recruitment across the North West.

Dr. Gabrielle Heffernan: Content Director
Gabrielle joined NFM in August 2022. With a background in curating museum collections, Gabrielle brings a decade of experience in heritage, most recently overseeing the Curatorial Team and working as part of the capital development project team at Tullie House. Additionally, she sits on the Arts Council England Designation Panel and is a trustee of the Story Museum in Oxford.

Janine Ross: Marketing & Communications Director
Janine joined the organisation in August 2022, bringing over 20 years’ experience in marketing, communications and business development across commercial and non-profit sectors, most recently as Head of Marketing & Business Development with the Liverpool FC Foundation. She has also held roles with Liverpool ONE, The Florence Institute Trust, The Beatles Story and Visit Liverpool.

Mike Wells: Finance & Commercial Director
Mike joined the organisation in December 2019, bringing nearly 30 years’ experience in finance, commercial and operations management experience across both commercial and non-profit organisations. His previous appointments include McDonald’s Restaurants, Manchester United FC and Manchester United Foundation.


Wiebke Cullen: Collections Manager
Dr. Peter Holme: Curator
Dr. Alexander Jackson: Curator
Marek Romaniszyn: Curator
Elisha Foster: Curatorial Coordinator

David Mansell: Project Manager

Christian Allen: Communities & Public Programmes Manager
Sam Broadley: Programmes Producer
Louise Rutherford: Participation Producer


Craig Dobson: Digital Marketing Coordinator


Darren Collingwood: Operations Manager
Amanda Ellam: Visitor Experience Coordinator
Kristina Matusaitis: Visitor Experience Coordinator
Aron Royle: Visitor Experience Coordinator
Laura Gritti: Team Leader (Stock Control)

Jeff Starkey: Technical Manager
Mark Howarth: Gallery Technician
Michael Shields: Gallery Technician

Heather Cooper: Executive Assistant
Charlotte Taylor: Executive Assistant (maternity cover)


Sheryse Kennedy: Finance Manager
Nita Mistry: Finance Assistant

Laurie Bowe: Venue Sales Manager
David Edwards: Venue Sales Manager (maternity cover)

Jennie Hart: HR Manager


John Brewer (Chair)
Jane Bateman (Deputy Chair)
Simon Barker
Paul Castle.
Neil Fairlamb
Catherine Forshaw
Steve Grace
Matt Pilkington
Laura Pye
Rikki Singh
Moira Stephenson
Cllr Angeliki Stogia
Tom Watt
Dr Wanda Wyporska

THE LATEST UPDATES, DIRECT TO YOUR INBOXSign up to our fortnightly newsletter below.