Please note: The museum is temporarily closed. Follow our Twitter, Facebook and Instagram accounts for more football content.

Sporting Memories

Please note that our Sporting Memories sessions have been postponed until further notice. For more information, please contact Age Friendly Programme Coordinator Louise Rutherford on 0161 8718 177, or email at [email protected].

Love talking football? Come along to our friendly Sporting Memories group. Chat, share memories and meet other older sports fans.

Take inspiration from our exhibitions and our extensive museum collection, and share your personal stories of players, games and grounds with like-minded visitors.

The Sporting Memories Network have regular get-togethers around the country, using sport as a way to help people meet others, talk about their experiences and make new friends. The National Football Museum sessions have been a hit with visitors, with a second Wednesday group launching by popular demand.

The two groups meet fortnightly at the museum, with our Monday morning group meeting from 10.30am to 12pm, and an additional Wednesday morning group from 10:30am to 12pm.

Our memory groups are free, and refreshments are provided. For more information, please contact our Age Friendly Programme Coordinator Louise Rutherford on 0161 8718 177, or email at [email protected].

2020 Dates

Monday 6 January

Wednesday 8 January

Monday 20 January

Wednesday 22 January

Monday 3 February

Wednesday 5 February

Monday 17 February

Wednesday 19 February

Monday 2 March

Wednesday 4 March

Monday 16 March

Wednesday 18 March

Monday 30 March

Wednesday 1 April

Monday 20 April

Wednesday 22 April

Monday 4 May

Wednesday 6 May

Monday 18 May

Wednesday 20 May

 

Dementia-friendly Football Memories

The Football Memories reminiscence programme is for older people and those living with dementia.

The programme consists of museum memory tours and outreach activities in community and residential care settings. Reminiscence can support wellbeing and tackle social isolation. Many people living with dementia may have short term memory problems, but often long term memory is preserved. Football reminiscence sessions provide opportunities for participants to share memories, connect with those around them and maintain social connections.

Our free Football Memories group meets fortnightly on Wednesdays between 1:30 and 3pm.

2020 Dates

Wednesday 8 January

Wednesday 22 January

Wednesday 5 February

Wednesday 19 February

Wednesday 4 March

Wednesday 18 March

Wednesday 1 April

Wednesday 22 April

Wednesday 6 May

Wednesday 20 May