About Hall Of Fame

Everything you need to know

The National Football Museum, and Hall Of Fame supporters The PFA, have announced the following players have all been voted into the National Football Museum Hall Of Fame in 2015:

  • Ivor Allchurch The Golden Boy of Welsh Football; a Swansea hero and inside forward in the 1958 World Cup team.
  • Bob Crompton The Blackburn Rovers captain led his side to 2 Division One titles, and was England's record cap holder for almost 40 years. Crompton is this year's 'Historic Player' inductee.
  • Norman Hunter The first PFA Player of the Year, Hunter was the defensive lynchpin of Don Revie's Leeds United side.
  • Paul McGrath An elegant and composed centre half who could also play in midfield, Paul McGrath came to be known as ‘God’ by Aston Villa fans. The Irish international won 2 League Cups with Villa, and the FA Cup with Manchester United.
  • Alan Mullery Fulham, Tottenham and England midfielder Alan Mullery was a tough, hard-working midfielder with a capacity for scoring a great goal. A key part of Spurs’ 1967 FA Cup winners, he later lifted League and UEFA Cups as club captain.
  • Gary Neville England's most-capped right back was a one-club servant, winning 8 Premier Leagues, 3 FA Cups, 2 League Cups and 2 Champions’ League medals in over 600 appearances for Manchester United.
  • Stuart Pearce A hard-hitting full back with a blistering shot, Pearce was a club legend at Nottingham Forest, who he captained to 2 League Cups.

Two further players are to be inducted in the following categories, supported by The FA:

  • Female player: Faye White. The Arsenal Ladies and England captain is one of the most decorated and respected figures of the modern women's game. White captained her country at 4 major tournaments, and lifted over 25 trophies during 17 years with Arsenal.
  • Football For All inductee: Gary Davies Captain of England's Cerebral Palsy side, Gary Davies won 85 caps and continues to work as a coach with young players.

In addition, England and Liverpool legend John Barnes, originally voted into the Hall Of Fame in 2005, will attend the ceremony in October to receive his award for the first time. 

The National Football Museum Hall Of Fame aims to celebrate and highlight the achievements of the all-time top English footballing talents, as well as non-English players and managers who have become significant figures in the history of the English game.

New members are added each year at a special induction ceremony. From 2002 events took place across the country, but since 2013 the annual ceremony takes place at the National Football Museum's Hall of Fame in Manchester.

To be considered for induction players must be either retired or, in exceptional cases where a playing career is still ongoing, be at least 30 years of age. All inductees must also have played/managed for at least five years in England.

In 2007, two new categories of induction were established alongside the players, managers and female players' categories. Chiefly, this was in recognition of football's central role in English culture, extending Hall of Fame honours to those whose main contribution to the English game has been outside the more obvious field of play. The Community Champion category – sponsored by the Football Foundation – honours professional players who have donated their spare time and money to the grassroots level of the sport, while the Football for All Award – sponsored by the Football Association – is presented to pioneers of the various forms of football played by disabled people.

Since 2009, the Museum now also commemorates whole teams alongside its awarding of individual players and coaches. The criteria for their induction is that they must have played at least a quarter of a century prior.

The National Football Museum Hall Of Fame awards are sponsored by the Professional Footballers' Association.

The Selection Panel

The National Football Museum Hall of Fame Selection Panel is made up of some of the greatest names in the game. The inaugural panel brought together in 2002 comprised:

Jimmy Armfield
Sir Trevor Brooking (Museum Vice-President)
Jimmy Hill
Mark Lawrenson (Museum ambassador)
Gordon Taylor

In subsequent years Graham Taylor and Steve Hodge have joined as expert panelists.

In addition all living inductees into the Hall of Fame automatically join the Selection Panel. The panel grows each year and currently comprises:

Tony Adams, Viv Anderson, Ossie Ardiles, Debbie Bampton, Gordon Banks, John Barnes, Peter Beardsley, David Beckham, Colin Bell, Dennis Bergkamp, Liam Brady, Ian Callaghan, Eric Cantona, Jack Charlton, Sir Bobby Charlton (Museum President), David Clarke, Ray Clemence, George Cohen, Pauline Cope, Gillian Coultard, Stephen Daley, Kenny Dalglish, Matt Dimbylow, Robbie Earle, Sir Alex Ferguson (Museum Vice-President), George Ferguson, Trevor Francis, Paul Gascoigne, Ryan Giggs, Sylvia Gore, Dario Gradi, Eddie Gray, Jimmy Greaves, Alan Hansen, Thierry Henry, Glenn Hoddle, Mark Hughes, Roger Hunt, Sir Geoff Hurst, Pat Jennings, Steve Johnson, Cliff Jones, Roy Keane, Kevin Keegan, Howard Kendall, Denis Law, Francis Lee, Matt LeTissier, Gary Lineker, Sue Lopez, Jimmy McIlroy, Frank McLintock, Michael Owen, Sheila Parker, Martin Peters, Hope Powell, Niall Quinn, Bryan Robson, Ian Rush, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Brenda Sempare, Alan Shearer, Teddy Sheringham, Peter Shilton, Graeme Souness, Marieanne Spacey, Nobby Stiles, Mike Summerbee, Graham Taylor, Terry Venables, Patrick Vieira, Karen Walker, Ronnie Watson, Arsene Wenger, Ray Wilson, Ian Wright, Gianfranco Zola

Since 2007, a number of eminent football historians have been asked to join the panel to advise on players and teams from the early years of the game.

Currently, the historian panel also includes:
David Pearson, Dr Martin Polley, Dr Neil Carter, Dr Peter Holme, Gary James, Kevin Moore, Prof Dick Holt, Prof Dil Porter, Prof John Hughson, Prof Jeffrey Hill, Prof John Williams, Simon Inglis, Dr Alexander Jackson, Prof Graham Kelly, Prof Tony Collins, Prof Tony Mason, Prof Dave Russell, Prof Matthew Taylor and Dr Jean William.

As we look to the future of the Hall of Fame, with its permanent home at the National Football Museum in Manchester, we'll also look at ways that fans can have their say in honouring the greats of the game.

Supported by:

Other interesting content

Form & Glory - Stylish Football Posters

Football Plus
Support Us